AgGrowth Coalition Applauds Ministers for Proceeding with Work on National Business Risk Management Suite of Programs

Ottawa, ON (July 20, 2018) – Canada’s AgGrowth Coalition and our members thank Federal Provincial Territorial (FPT) Agriculture Ministers for their continued commitment to improving national Business Risk Management (BRM) programs - in partnership with the agriculture sector.

At their annual meeting, FPT Ministers met to discuss a number of issues including the results of BRM review over the past year.  Ministers heard from an external panel of experts that made a number of recommendations and directed officials to move forward with a plan of action.

“The Canadian agri-food sector has great potential – it is a strategic national asset,” said Mark Brock, Chair, AgGrowth Coalition.  “BRM programs are critical tools for farmers operating in a globally competitive environment.  FPT Ministers’ continued commitment to improving those tools is a big deal. For that we say thank you.”

The AgGrowth Coalition was established by farmers to advocate for a comprehensive reform of risk management programming. The agriculture sector has been and will continue to work in partnership with governments across the country to establish the right policies and programs to better reflect modern farming needs in Canada.

“The work on the BRM review over the past year was successful because of the industry and government partnership,” said Jeff Nielsen, Vice Chair, AgGrowth Coalition. “We encourage officials to get down to business without delay and look forward to working with FPT officials on the plan of action to move forward.”

AGgrowth Coalition

The AGgrowth Coalition is comprised of the Canadian Federation of Agriculture, Canadian Canola Growers Association, Grain Growers of Canada, Grain Farmers of Ontario, the National Sheep Network, and the Canadian Horticultural Council. The coalition is working towards comprehensive reform of business risk management programming for Canadian farmers.

Media Contacts

Canadian Federation of Agriculture
Janice Hall
Director of Communications
Phone: 613-236-3633 ext. 2322

Grain Growers of Canada
Lindsey Ehman
Manager, Communications & Stakeholder Relations
Phone: 613-233-9954 ext. 202

Canadian Canola Growers Association
Catherine Scovil
Director, Government Relations
Phone: 613-232-0223

Grain Farmers of Ontario
Debra Conlon
Government Relations
Phone: 416-805-4490

Canadian Horticultural Council
Mark Wales
Chair of Business Risk Management Committee
Phone: 519-773-6706

National Sheep Network
Jennifer MacTavish
General Manager
Phone: 519-836-0043